Meet Your Clinician:
Niurka Shkolnik, LCSW,CCTP 
#SW13266, Florida; #NJDCATEMP-011824, New Jersey; #645-SW-LICSW-TEMP Massachusetts
Registered in Vermont and New York State throughout the COVID-19 pandemic

Niurka Shkolnik, LCSW, CCTP is an individual, couple, and family therapist located in Palm Beach County, FL. She is the founder of Resilience Psychotherapy, where she focuses on helping individuals, couples, and families propel forward from difficult challenges in a healthy, mindful way. A specialist in traumatic stress, relational resilience, neuroexperiential modalities, Dementia, Cancer, and caregiving, she places clinical focus on the treatment of depression, anxiety, trauma, grief, bereavement, life transitions, and couple and family therapy. Niurka is formally trained in Brainspotting, Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing Therapy, Dialectical Behavior Therapy, EFT Tapping for Trauma, Polyvagal Interventions, Mindfulness-Based Interventions, Motivational Interviewing, Solution-Focused Psychotherapy, and Gottman Method Couple Therapy. Using her clinical toolbox, she facilitates access to healing by merging relational and neurobiological attunement with the implementation of practical coping skills. Niurka maintains certification as a Certified Clinical Trauma Professional, implementing the most current research on how traumatic stress resides in and impacts the body. A Person-Centered approach emphasizing the therapeutic alliance is of the utmost importance throughout treatment. Sessions are open to both young (18+) and older adult populations. 

Niurka has worked with leaders in the fields of neurology and psychotherapy, namely in program development. She has been trained by internationally recognized clinicians and completed her education at the highly ranked University of Maryland School of Social Work. Prior to diving into private practice, Niurka was the founding psychotherapist of the Comprehensive Center for Brain Health, a specialty brain health research center led by world-renowned faculty. She has maintained positions in hospice and long-term care, the US Department of Veterans Affairs, nationally based non-profit organizations, and in private practice while living in Baltimore, MD, Miami, and Boca Raton, FL. Niurka is licensed in the state of Florida and temporarily in the states of Massachusetts, New York, Vermont, and New Jersey in response to the COVID-19 state of emergency.

"What's in the brain is in the body and what's in the body is in the brain."

-David Grand, PhD

"Neurons that fire together, wire together."

-Donald Hebb,PhD 1949

"Where your attention goes, neuronal firing flows, and neural connection grows."

- Daniel Seigel, MD


Galvin JE, Chrisphonte S, Cohen I, Greenfield KK, Kleiman MJ, Moore C, Riccio ML, Rosenfeld A, Shkolnik N, Walker M, Chang LC, Tolea MI.

Characterization of dementia with Lewy bodies (DLB) and mild cognitive impairment using the Lewy body dementia module (LBD-MOD). Alzheimers Dement. 2021 Oct;17(10):1675-1686. doi: 10.1002/alz.12334. Epub 2021 Apr 1. PMID: 33793069; PMCID: PMC8484363.




What is Brainspotting? (quick video)

What is Brainspotting? (In-depth explanation)

Research and Case Studies


Article: Brainspotting: Recruiting the midbrain for accessing and healing sensorimotor memories of traumatic activation


How EMDR works (quick video)

Introduction to EMDR therapy from EMDRIA:

Polyvagal Theory:

Trauma and the Nervous System: A Polyvagal Perspective


What is Dialectical Behavior Therapy? (quick video)

EFT Tapping explained: 


Mindfulness Meditation: 

What is Mindfulness?

Favorite Meditation websites and Apps:

Insight Timer (it's free!)

Gottman Method Couple Therapy: 

Dementia explained: 

What is Dementia?

Vascular Dementia: 

What is Vascular Dementia?

Vascular Dementia Explained

Lewy Body Dementia:

What is Lewy Body Dementia?

Lewy Body Dementia Symptom Checklist:

Lewy Body Dementia Association

Alzheimer's Disease:

What is Alzheimer's Disease?

Alzheimer's Association

Help and Support:

Find your Local Chapter:


What is Cancer?

Multiple Myeloma: 

What is Multiple Myeloma?

How Monoclonal Antibodies Treat Cancer:

What is an Autologous Stem Cell Transplant?

What is an Allogenic Stem Cell Transplant?

List of Diseases treated by Stem Cell Transplants:

What is CAR T-Cell Therapy?

International Myeloma Foundation

SparkCures: Find Myeloma Specialists, Treatments, Clinical Trials

Leukemia and Lymphoma Society: